PA’s Community Colleges Honor Exceptional Students

HARRISBURG – The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges (PACCC) honored the 23rd Annual All-Pennsylvania Academic Team at an awards banquet in Harrisburg. The awards recognize an exceptional group of community college students who have achieved excellence and demonstrated a commitment to their colleges and communities.

The 2017 All-PA Team consists of 49 outstanding community college scholars from across the Commonwealth. Students must have completed at least 36 credits at a community college and must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher to be considered for these awards.

“The Commission congratulates these outstanding student scholars on their academic achievements.” said Elizabeth Bolden, President and CEO of PACCC. “By enrolling in a high-quality program at a community college, these students have taken an important step toward realizing their education and career goals.”

Pennsylvania’s community colleges partner with the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) universities to provide scholarships to All-PA Team members at PASSHE institutions, providing two years of tuition at any PASSHE school.

Thirty-one of this year’s team members intend to transfer to PASSHE institutions, and many intend to pursue postgraduate education in a wide range of fields.

The student receiving the highest All-USA Community College Academic Team application score in each state is named a Coca-Cola New Century Scholar. Scott Duffy of Delaware County Community College is this year’s recipient of the honor, which comes with a $2,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Educational Foundation. Duffy was also named to the All-USA Community College Academic Team, an honor bestowed on only 20 students across the country. All-USA Community College Academic Team members also receive a $5,000 scholarship.

The Pennsylvania awardees also include 2 Coca-Cola Silver Scholars, who will receive $1,250 scholarships, and 2 Coca-Cola Bronze Scholars, who will receive $1,000 scholarships.

The All-USA Community College Academic Team is sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group, a leading provider of college and university bookstore services, with additional support provided by PTK and the AACC. The New Century Scholars program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, PTK and the AACC. Students nominated to the national All-USA Community College Academic Team are automatically named to the All-State Community College Academic Teams. The programs share common eligibility criteria, which includes enrollment at a community college, a minimum 3.5 grade point average, completion of a minimum of 36 college-level credits, and being on track to receive an associate or bachelor’s degree.

The following students are members of the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team:

 Community College of Allegheny County

Josephine Albrecht, Aspinwall

Jared Baran-Cummings, Monongahela

Ashley Campbell, East Pittsburgh

Gerad Greco, Pittsburgh

Alison McMutrie, Pittsburgh

Samantha Musser, Pittsburgh

Stella Obiakor, Pittsburgh

Gina Ruggieri, Pittsburgh

Community College of Beaver County

Kelsey Hudacsek, Aliquippa

Leslie Powell, Freedom

Bucks County Community College

Kimberly Konczyk, Warminster

Matthew Stewart, Churchville

Butler County Community College

Lauren Denny, Butler (Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar)

Tarah Schmidt, Parker (Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar)

Delaware County Community College

Gina DiLuzio, Ridley Park

Scott Duffy, Collingdale (All-USA Scholar, Coca-Cola New Century Scholar)

HACC, Central Pennsylvania’s Community College

Godiva Biayi, York

Michaela Bowers, Harrisburg

Minh Do, Lancaster

Sarah Hummel, Cleona

Laura Hutson, Palmyra

Giuliano Oliveira Lima, York

Elizabeth Migatulski, Boiling Springs

Megan Pomeroy, Shippensburg

Emma Semrau, Annville

Lehigh Carbon Community College

Theresa Buckley, Allentown

Madison Marshall, Schnecksville

Luzerne County Community College

Alyssah Dombek, Glen Lyon

Stephanie Novitski, Nanticoke

 Montgomery County Community College

Samuel Cocchimiglio, Gilbertsville

Ericka Klarman, Phoenixville

Jacqueline Smith, Collegeville

Charles Vitabile, Gilbertsville

Northampton Community College

Lori Bloch, Stroudsburg

Fitzgerald Joseph, Henryville

Michael Rex, Walnutport

Kathryn Seaton, Nazareth

Pennsylvania Highlands Community College

Rachel Blackburn, Altoona

Nicholas Braniff, Revloc

Sadie Carney, Johnstown (Coca-Cola Silver Scholar)

Hunter Connor, Boswell

Mary Anne Cowfer, Tyrone

Kylee Doyle, Hollsopple

Jessica Shaffer, Ebensburg

Community College of Philadelphia

Cedric Jouin, Philadelphia

Reading Area Community College

David Meyer, West Reading

Heather Murray, Sinking Spring (Coca-Cola Silver Scholar)

Westmoreland County Community College

Shelby Kimmick, Youngwood

Joshua Vincent, Dunbar


The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges is a voluntary membership association for Pennsylvania’s community colleges.  Its members include the college presidents, members of the colleges’ boards of trustees, and key college administrators.  The Commission represents the interests of and advocates for the collective needs of the community colleges to federal and state policymakers.  For more information, please visit