Pennsylvania Community College Students Recognized for Academic Achievements at Harrisburg Awards Banquet

The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges (PACCC) honored the 25th Annual All-Pennsylvania Academic Team at an awards banquet in Harrisburg today. The awards recognize an exceptional group of community college students who have achieved academic excellence and demonstrated a commitment to their colleges and communities.

The 2019 awardees include 47 outstanding community college transfer scholars and eight exceptional workforce scholars from across the Commonwealth. Transfer students must have completed at least 36 credits at a community college and must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher to be considered for these awards. Workforce students must have a minimum of 12 college-level credit hours at a community college and a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher.

“We applaud these outstanding student scholars on their terrific academic achievements,” said Elizabeth Bolden, President and CEO of the Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges. “By enrolling in high-quality educational or workforce programs at a community college, these students are building a foundation for a successful career while furthering their postsecondary study.”

Pennsylvania’s community colleges partner with the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) universities to provide scholarships to All-PA Transfer Team members at PASSHE institutions, providing two years of tuition at any PASSHE school.

The students receiving the highest All-USA Community College Team application scores in each state are named the Coca-Cola New Century Transfer Scholar and the Coca-Cola New Century Workforce Pathways Scholar. Northampton Community College student Michelle Tatosian is this year’s recipient of the transfer honor, which comes with a $2,250 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Educational Foundation. Community College of Allegheny County student Deawna Alfonsi is the recipient of this year’s workforce honor, which comes with a $1,250 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Educational Foundation.

The Pennsylvania transfer awardees also include five Coca-Cola Silver Scholars who will receive $1,250 scholarships and two Coca-Cola Bronze Scholars who will receive $1,000 scholarships.

The All-USA Community College Academic Team is sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group, a leading provider of college and university bookstore services, with additional support provided by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). The New Century Scholars program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, PTK and the AACC.

Students nominated to the national All-USA Community College Academic Team are automatically named to the All-State Community College Academic Teams. The programs share common eligibility criteria, which includes enrollment at a community college, a minimum 3.5 grade point average, completion of a minimum of 36 college-level credits, and being on track to receive an associate or bachelor’s degree.

The following students are members of the All-Pennsylvania Academic Transfer and Workforce Teams:

Community College of Allegheny County

  • Deawna Alfonsi, New Century Workforce Scholar
  • Brooke Allen
  • Douglas Cole
  • Ronald Joseph
  • Matthew Konvalin
  • Abigail Manges
  • Tyler Omune
  • Nicole Russell
  • Georgios Sotiriou

Community College of Beaver County

  • Eric Taylor
  • Herney Valdez

Bucks County Community College

  • Greta Chavey
  • Jacob Marquard
  • Vincent Taylor

Butler County Community College

  • Matthew Reitler, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar
  • Claire Rodgers

Delaware County Community College

  • Em Mirra, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar
  • Zun Phyu Thant

Harrisburg Area Community College

  • Willis Boykin
  • Corinne Crushong
  • Sharonda Diggs
  • Blasia Drumm
  • Bryanna Harmon
  • Mark Humphries
  • Gibson Theobald, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar

Lehigh Carbon Community College

  • Mindy Berky
  • Kira Williams

Luzerne County Community College       

  • Dagmar Frias
  • Sharra Walton

Montgomery County Community College

  • Katherine Araya
  • Barry Hunsberger
  • Ezinne Ottih
  • Zachary Perales
  • Kaitlyn Stewart

Northampton Community College

  • Na-Quasia Dickerson
  • Cody Geddings
  • Kendall Lewczak
  • Kayla Marsdale, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar
  • Michelle Tatosian, New Century Transfer Scholar

Pennsylvania Highlands Community College

  • Taylor Beneke
  • Anthony Cornetti
  • Christina Evans
  • Lisa Ferko
  • Augusta Hay
  • Jacqlyn Knox
  • Oliver Lindrose, Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar
  • Tiffaney Smith, Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar

Community College of Philadelphia

  • Veronica Holloway
  • Terrance Meacham

Reading Area Community College

  • Judith Croteau, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar
  • Patricia Wright
  • Sherry Yost

Westmoreland County Community College

  • Bradley Dupree
  • Lauren Felix
  • Megan Polash